A Traditional Form of Giving

The most traditional form of a deferred gift is a bequest included in a person’s will or revocable (living) trust. Allow us to assist you and your legal and financial advisors as you tailor your bequest to fulfill your specific wishes. And, if you intend to include the Community Foundation in your estate plans or have already done so, please let us know; documentation and discussion will help us ensure that your wishes become a reality.

What, when, and how much do you want to give?

What, when, and how much do you want to give?

A specific dollar amount– Example: I give and bequeath $100,000 to the Community Foundation of Collier County.
Specific personal or real property– Example: I give and bequeath our primary residence and the art collection within the primary residence to the Community Foundation of Collier County.
Residuary gift– You may give the remainder of your estate in whole or in part. Example: I give and bequeath 50 percent of the residual of my estate to the Community Foundation of Collier.
Contingent gift– You may want to give a gift only if certain conditions are met. Example: I give and bequeath {my farm property} to my spouse, if he or she survives me. If my spouse does not survive me, I give and bequeath {my farm property} to the Community Foundation of Collier.

How do you want your bequest to be used?

How do you want your bequest to be used?

Unrestricted gift: The gifts is made to the Community Foundation of general purposes.
Field-of-Interest gift: Choose a philanthropic area that you are passionate about.
Gift to an existing fund: You may leave bequests to funds that you established before your death; these may be donor-advised, scholarship or designated funds.
Use gift to create a fund: You may use a bequest to create a new fund to be administered by the Community Foundation. The new fund may be a donor-advised, scholarship or designated fund, and may be endowed or unendowed. The fund may be established while you are living and be named in your will or trust. The fund may also honor someone or serve as a memorial tribute.

The Legacy Society

The Legacy Society is comprised of members who have included the Community Foundation of Collier County in their estate plan.
The Legacy Society provides awareness to the general public about philanthropic opportunities that exist to sustain the future of our community while creating a family legacy.

Including the Community Foundation in your estate plan is easy. You can simply include a few lines about the percentage of your estate or trust, sum of money, or property you would like to donate.
You can also name additional beneficiaries.

Contact our expert staff at the Community Foundation to start the conversation.

Ms. Patricia Aiken-O’Neill

Mr. and Mrs. Marcelo A. Alvarez

Ms. Bridget Bannon

Mrs. Jane Billings

Ms. Huguette L. Castaneda

Mrs. Patricia A. Daniel

Mr. and Mrs. James F. Derham

Mr. and Mrs. Louis H. Dingerdissen

Ms. Susan H. Earl

Mr. and Mrs. Samuel L. Finkelstein

Mrs. Patricia A. Forkan

Dr. Howard L. Freedman

Mrs. Diane R. Garesche

Mr. and Mrs. James R. Gibson, Jr.

Mrs. Christine Ginos

Ms. Nina A. Gray

Mrs. Elizabeth S. Hall

Dr. Mana A. Holtz

Mr. and Mrs. Alan M. Horton

Mr. Michael Isermann & Mrs. Penelope Isermann

Mr. and Mrs. David M. Jones

Mr. and Mrs. Edward J. Kant

Mr. Patrick E. Keesler and Ms. Eileen Connolly-Keesler

Mrs. Joyce H. Kempton

Mr. Dennis Kilcoyne

Rev. Dr. Kathleen L. Kircher

Mrs. G. Edna Krentz

Mr. and Mrs. Ben J. Lancashire

Mr. William R. Lindsay

Mr. Richard and Mrs. Gayle Lipsig

Mrs. Alice Ross T. Martell

Dr. Mary McLearn

Dr. and Mrs. Charles J. Montgomery

Stephen R. and Mary Lynn Myers

Mr. and Mrs. Noel Osborne

Mr. James D. Proud

Mr. and Mrs. Lyle Rosenzweig

Mr. and Mrs. Gary W. Schmelz

Mr. and Mrs. Charles W. Schueddig

Mrs. Joan C. Shipman

Ms. Laura Simmelink

Mr. and Mrs. Jefferson A. Simpson

Mrs. Nancy Sineni

Mr. and Mrs. Erland P. Stevens Jr.

Mrs. Helen Strong

Mr. Thomas A. Sully

Dr. and Mrs. Donald Ullrich

Wayne T. and Loretta N. Umetsu

Mrs. Barbara J. Van Dorn

Dr. Myra Nichol Williams

Mrs. Miriam Wolfson Shuler

Mr. Bob Young

Mr. Dietrich E. Zimmerman


To learn more, please contact:

Julie Van Tongeren
VP of Development
[email protected]